The City

Edinburgh is the capital of Scotland, a title it has held since the 15th century. It is the seventh largest city in Great Britain and the second largest Scottish city after Glasgow.

The City of Edinburgh Council is one of Scotland’s local government council areas. Situated in the south-east of Scotland, Edinburgh is on the east coast of the Central Belt, along the Firth of Forth and near the North Sea.

Because of to its rugged setting and huge collection of Medieval and Georgian architecture, including several stone tenements, it is frequently considered one of the most stunning cities in Europe. The capital forms part of the City of Edinburgh council area.

The city council area includes urban Edinburgh and a 30-square-mile rural area.

UNESCO Edinburgh

Edinburgh is the home of the Scottish Parliament. The city was one of the greatest centres of the Enlightenment, led by the city’s renowned university, earning it the nickname Athens of the North. The Old Town and New Town districts of Edinburgh were listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1995.

There are over 4,500 listed buildings within the city, which is why it’s such a popular location for people who want to get married there.

In the 2008 midyear population estimates, Edinburgh had a total resident population of 471,650.